Luka Modric Wins 2018 Ballon D’Or

The Ballon D’Or award is awarded to the male athlete to have performed the best within the last year. The Ballon D’Or winner in 2018 was midfielder Luka Modric.

Modric is currently a member of both the Croatian National Team and Real Madrid. Modric has been playing since 2003 after being signed by the Dinamo Zagreb, in which he played five years before signing with Tottenham Hotspur in 2008.

Modric was a member of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in which Croatia finished second to France. Croatia went on to lose the match 4-2 but witnessed an impressive performance within the World Cup.

Modric ended up winning the award for Best Player in theWorld Cup, however, that wasn’t the only award that Modric went on to win. Modric won the UEFA Championship League as a member of Real Madrid along withthe UEFA Player of the Year award.

Modric scored one goal as a member of Croatia in the World Cup and two goals internationally. As a member of Real Madrid, Modric has scored nine goals in 180 appearances.

Modric has proven himself as a valuable asset to both Real Madrid and Croatia. Because of his ability to handle the ball in an efficient fashion resulted in Modric ending the reign of Ronaldo and Messi as winners of the Ballon D’Or.

Both Ronaldo and Messi have won the Ballon D’Or award the previous 10 seasons and today marked the end of their dominance in soccer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s